Hello There, Guest!

01-07-2011, 01:18 AM | Post: #101
Offline thebronxbomber 
Well, you can't select unranked can you? Don't you have to edit it in the serversettings.con file? I changed the file from 1 to 0 in the sv.ranked part and its still ranked :/

Fighting 13th Community
We are recruiting Smile
Quote
01-07-2011, 01:42 AM | Post: #102
Offline FlashGordon 

@thebronxbomber - Yes Multiplay's "profiles" system. The ranked/unranked status is hard coded from the profile into the server startup command parameters, so it overwrites the setting in the con file. This is only true for ranking status, I believe. You have to create an UNRANKED profile on your Multiiplay web panel AND select that profile as active, THEN restart your server. Everything else can be configured via the admin tools.

Amongst other additions in tonight's update, I have added a mention of this to the settings popup in P4FCC. Also, a mention about using the ADMIN port on the connection details popup, for any new admins.

Regards,
Pedro

[Image: attachment.php?attachhash=d77e933d86e1a2...8841c42059]

Get P4FCC (built in free demo server)
(This post was last modified: 01-07-2011 01:46 AM by FlashGordon.)
Quote
01-07-2011, 08:18 AM | Post: #103
Offline Obest 
FlashGordon,

After the update I get connection problem to the server is this due to update or my server provider does something wrong? Could it be that I did something wrong? I have left BFP4FCC open ovenight and when I got up this morning it was with trying to reconnect with error message.

Copy out of the log:
7/1/2011 8:19:22 AM : An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote host
7/1/2011 8:19:22 AM : An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote host : at System.Net.Sockets.Socket.Receive(Byte[] buffer, Int32 offset, Int32 size, SocketFlags socketFlags)
at System.Net.Sockets.Socket.Receive(Byte[] buffer)
at BP4FCC.SocketClient.ReceiveData(Int32& lastByte)
7/1/2011 8:19:22 AM : Lost connection with the server (id1)
7/1/2011 8:19:22 AM : Error, lost connection while receiving data. :
7/1/2011 8:19:22 AM : Lost connection with the server (id3)
7/1/2011 8:19:22 AM : da socket is not connected. :
7/1/2011 8:19:22 AM : Error connecting to server
(This post was last modified: 01-07-2011 08:20 AM by Obest.)
Quote
01-07-2011, 09:04 AM | Post: #104
Offline RIC0H 
(01-07-2011 01:18 AM)thebronxbomber Wrote:  Well, you can't select unranked can you? Don't you have to edit it in the serversettings.con file? I changed the file from 1 to 0 in the sv.ranked part and its still ranked :/

In clanforge, you have to go to: "Profiles" on the left then click "new" at the bottom.
Then select the following:
Game- Battlefield Play 4 Free
Mod- Battlefield: Play 4 Free
Templates- BFP4F unranked
Profile Name- (whatever you wish to call the new profile)

Then press create at the bottom.
Then press save.

That creates your unranked profile.

To check that your new profile is active, go to "Servers" on the left, the click "details - show".
Under Profile should be your new unranked profile name, however, if its not, then click the "edit" button at the bottom and change the "profile" drop down to your unranked profile.

then just click save.
Quote
01-07-2011, 09:44 AM | Post: #105
Offline FlashGordon 
@Obest - In these early days of many patches, fixes and breaks for both server and client tool, it is hard to tell sometimes where the fault is. For example I hear some saying that there is currently a crash scenario that knocks the server off the radar. You have to restart it twice to make it show/connect properly. This may explain your scenario. The way P4FCC completely drops and tries to reconnect means it's fairly resilient to connection issues, so it's most likely your server got it's knickers in a twist and needs a manual reboot.

If a) you are sure your server is running and b) can connect with the EAsy Panel, but you are STILL havig problems with P4FCC, then check your firewall isn't blocking the latest version. Every upgrade of this Microsoft ClickOnce deployment seems to be caught by Windows firewall as a new application, requiring user permission when trying to connect the first time after the patch. I don't have issue with this, I like to see my firewall is working.

Let me know how you get on. I'm hoping a couple of manual server restarts will fix your problem.

Regards,
Pedro

[Image: attachment.php?attachhash=d77e933d86e1a2...8841c42059]

Get P4FCC (built in free demo server)
Quote
01-07-2011, 10:29 AM | Post: #106
Offline Obest 
(01-07-2011 09:44 AM)FlashGordon Wrote:  @Obest - In these early days of many patches, fixes and breaks for both server and client tool, it is hard to tell sometimes where the fault is. For example I hear some saying that there is currently a crash scenario that knocks the server off the radar.

You might be right there.
I haven't restarted it but left note to server provider, I'll see what they will say.

Basically it's same situation with Easy panel as well + server appears as offline inside the game. However when I check it's status via web control panel it appears to be "Running" and 25 people playing on it Smile
I rented server from branzone.com I see what they say. But I'll be honest I am not too impressed so far. 2 days I had server and second day in a row it goes offline or restarts, but it's too early to form opinion we'll se how it goes.

Thanks for reply Pedro. If I will not get any reply from them by the end of the day I'll try to restart it (I left server as it is for branzone guys to study the situation).
Quote
01-07-2011, 01:22 PM | Post: #107
Offline BuckTester 
I don't seem to be able to get any of these to work. Running a Multiplay/ClanForge server. Can't connect to the server no matter what settings I try.
Quote
01-07-2011, 02:28 PM | Post: #108
Offline FlashGordon 
(01-07-2011 01:22 PM)BuckFutter Wrote:  I don't seem to be able to get any of these to work. Running a Multiplay/ClanForge server. Can't connect to the server no matter what settings I try.

Give em a call! They'll talk you through the setup.

It's usually one of three things:

1) Wrong connection settings (make sure you use "Admin" login, and ADMIN port (there are several mentioned)

2) Firewall - BRIEFLY disable your firewall to see it is was blocking the outbound connection to your game server

3) Server - Sometimes new servers don't get set up properly or fail during installation. Your web control panel may have options to restart (try several times - wait for server restart between tries) also options to reinstall or upgrade the current version. Make sure it's the latest version and server status is running.

The quickest solution is to ring your SRP and sort it out while they are on the phone. You pay them, you get support. Most are also very good at turning tickets around if you just want to open a ticket.

Regards,
Pedro

[Image: attachment.php?attachhash=d77e933d86e1a2...8841c42059]

Get P4FCC (built in free demo server)
Quote
01-07-2011, 03:31 PM | Post: #109
Offline Obest 
I got my server back, they just restarted it, I was talled "EA knows about frequent serve crashes and looks into it" I have to live with this for now, but I was hoping for a bit more reassurance.
(This post was last modified: 01-07-2011 03:32 PM by Obest.)
Quote
01-07-2011, 04:03 PM | Post: #110
Offline Obest 
I got another question what could this message mean? I got it from the log.

7/1/2011 3:59:27 PM : Database error
7/1/2011 3:59:27 PM : Unable to create character from player data
(This post was last modified: 01-07-2011 04:03 PM by Obest.)
Quote
01-07-2011, 04:04 PM | Post: #111
Offline FlashGordon 
(01-07-2011 03:31 PM)Obest Wrote:  I got my server back, they just restarted it, I was talled "EA knows about frequent serve crashes and looks into it" I have to live with this for now, but I was hoping for a bit more reassurance.

There really is a problem with frequent server crashes. I know EAsy are definitely looking into it. These kind of issues take prioriity over everything else. I suspect they'll have improved it early next week. It's quite possible there are multiple issues coming out, so it may take some time to come.

Being in the very first batch of BP4F server renters is a badge of honor, because sometimes you may have to earn it through patience, consideration and humour! Wink

It is my understanding that most providers will give you the lost days back in rental, if they see your sever was broken for a significant period of time.

(01-07-2011 04:03 PM)Obest Wrote:  I got another question what could this message mean? I got it from the log.

7/1/2011 3:59:27 PM : Database error
7/1/2011 3:59:27 PM : Unable to create character from player data

Thank you, I'm looking at it right now. PM or email me these kind of things please, it's usually quicker.

Regards,
Pedro

[Image: attachment.php?attachhash=d77e933d86e1a2...8841c42059]

Get P4FCC (built in free demo server)
(This post was last modified: 01-07-2011 06:20 PM by FlashGordon.)
Quote
01-07-2011, 04:24 PM | Post: #112
Offline FlashGordon 
(01-07-2011 04:03 PM)Obest Wrote:  I got another question what could this message mean? I got it from the log.

7/1/2011 3:59:27 PM : Database error
7/1/2011 3:59:27 PM : Unable to create character from player data

Update. Fixed and patch now available when you next start your P4FCC client.

Regards,
Pedro

[Image: attachment.php?attachhash=d77e933d86e1a2...8841c42059]

Get P4FCC (built in free demo server)
Quote
01-07-2011, 05:00 PM | Post: #113
Offline Obest 
Thanks that helped, no more weird log messages Smile
Quote
01-07-2011, 07:53 PM | Post: #114
Offline thebronxbomber 
Thanks for the help guys Smile

It's unranked Smile

Fighting 13th Community
We are recruiting Smile
Quote
01-07-2011, 08:03 PM | Post: #115
Offline DazzieBoi 
i see P4FCC had another update and now you can manage users, if I give someone moderator status can they use any commands, and if so what commands and how?

same applies to admin status Big Grin

Thnx

[Image: dazzieboy.png]

Quote
01-07-2011, 10:53 PM | Post: #116
Offline FlashGordon 
(01-07-2011 08:03 PM)DazzieBoi Wrote:  i see P4FCC had another update and now you can manage users, if I give someone moderator status can they use any commands, and if so what commands and how?

same applies to admin status Big Grin

Thnx

I rushed the user database out as a favour to a friend who needs it for competitions.

What you see so far is just a teaser Smile

As someone once said... I like to play with things a while... (23 seconds in, if you have a short attention span Wink )

Regards,
Pedro

[Image: attachment.php?attachhash=d77e933d86e1a2...8841c42059]

Get P4FCC (built in free demo server)
(This post was last modified: 01-07-2011 11:07 PM by FlashGordon.)
Quote
02-07-2011, 02:12 AM | Post: #117
Offline -=OG=-Vercetti 
(01-07-2011 10:53 PM)FlashGordon Wrote:  
(01-07-2011 08:03 PM)DazzieBoi Wrote:  i see P4FCC had another update and now you can manage users, if I give someone moderator status can they use any commands, and if so what commands and how?

same applies to admin status Big Grin

Thnx

I rushed the user database out as a favour to a friend who needs it for competitions.

What you see so far is just a teaser Smile

As someone once said... I like to play with things a while... (23 seconds in, if you have a short attention span Wink )

Regards,
Pedro

And we are very thankful for it Smile

Thanks Pedro!


U-238 Wrote:..when I participated in the EVGA Jeep Battles and I first heard MassiveImpulsa's voice I thought he was a girl......
Quote
02-07-2011, 03:23 AM | Post: #118
Offline Oogybear1 
Having an issue where bans are not staying. They are listed in modmanager under the ban list (sometimes up to 7 or 8 times). The player has the ability to rejoin the server.
-Oogy

http://www.AquaClan.com/

*AQUA* Clan - 24/7 Oman
http://battlefield.play4free.com/en/book...d924f4957e
Quote
02-07-2011, 08:23 AM | Post: #119
Offline FlashGordon 
There has been a known issue with bans in BP4F.
It's a server-side issue, nothing to do with the admin tools.
It should be sorted soon, in fact I understand it's being greatly improved.

Regards,
Pedro

[Image: attachment.php?attachhash=d77e933d86e1a2...8841c42059]

Get P4FCC (built in free demo server)
(This post was last modified: 02-07-2011 11:44 PM by FlashGordon.)
Quote
02-07-2011, 11:27 PM | Post: #120
Offline FlashGordon 
Tonight's update of P4FCC includes the basic set of admin and mod player commands.

Format below is /command first parameter second parameter

/adminsay hello world

/adminwarn flas being a very naughty boy

/adminkick flas still being very naughty

/adminban flas that's it, i've had enough

/adminskip

/adminjump bas

/modsay hello world

/modwarn flas being a very naughty boy

/modkick flas still being very naughty

/modskip

/modjump bas


(mods can't ban by default)

Notes:

You can use partial player names, and partial map names. The examples above would punish me, FlashGordon if I was playing, or would jump to Basra.

You can use "/" (forward slash) as a public command (everyone will see you type it)

You can also use "|" (pipe character) as a private command (it is not echoed to the game)


Hope you like it!

Regards,
Pedro

[Image: attachment.php?attachhash=d77e933d86e1a2...8841c42059]

Get P4FCC (built in free demo server)
(This post was last modified: 02-07-2011 11:38 PM by FlashGordon.)
Quote



Forum Jump:


WEB_PLAYER_PROFILE_ADD_TO_FRIENDS
WEB_PLAYER_PROFILE_REMOVE_FROM_FRIENDS
/en/ajax/checkFriendStatus
/en/ajax/friend
Battlefield Play4Free requires Windows XP or newer, sorry!
Please upgrade to Internet Explorer 5 or newer.
The 64bit version of Internet Explorer is not currently supported, please use the 32bit version.
Please upgrade to Firefox 1.5 or newer.
Please try Internet Explorer, Firefox or Chrome.
Battlefield Play4Free does not currently work with your browser.